spicestill.blogg.se

Solid state drive for imac 24
Solid state drive for imac 24








solid state drive for imac 24
  1. #Solid state drive for imac 24 install#
  2. #Solid state drive for imac 24 free#
solid state drive for imac 24

While its nice to have the greatest drive in the system it may not be ideal given the systems age. Sadly, Apple won't be supporting this system in the next version of OS-X (MacOS Sierra).

#Solid state drive for imac 24 free#

While you talked about getting a 500 GB drive will it be large enough now that we know we need more free space on it? Also remember this is an older system so does it make sense for the investment given its lifespan it has left. The last issue here is the cost for needed SSD. Ideally, you should be running Mavericks to gain TRIM services for the SSD, but that might be to heavy for your system depending on what you're doing. You have two things pulling at you here the age of the system and what OS is best suited for the SSD. Then the next issue is the OS you are using. Do make sure you've maxed out the system (8 GB) if you are using anything higher than Lion. If you run a lot of heavy memory apps you'll likely need more (1/3). I recommend no less than 1/4 be left unused. SSD's need more free space than HD's to last longer. So its important to review the specs to find the Interface supported line and that it clearly states it works running at SATA II.īefore you get into upgrading your drive you should think though the amount of space the drive needs to be. Many (HD, SSHD or SSD) are fixed speed and may not be able to run in your system. The issue is making sure the drive you do get is able to run at this exact SATA I/O speed. To start with your system can support any SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) drive HD, SSHD or SSD. If it really is impossible for me to go with that one, would you have any suggestions or good experiences with some other ssd that could be compatible with an old cpu like mine :) ?

#Solid state drive for imac 24 install#

What could go wrong if I would still install that ssd even if my cpu is not listed as compatible? I know there are some issues with the fan speed control, but I can probably manage that with a thermal sensor cable and numbers of apps ifixit suggest. Some sites I looked on seems to say it is (but only for the 128 go option) (), some other seems to say that it is but only from mid-2010 27" IMac () I was looking more precisely for that one :īut then, I have quite a hard time finding if it would be compatible or not with my cpu (early 2009 IMac 24" 2,66 Ghz). I've read a lot of bad reviews on the reliability of the seagate drives. I heard that samsung are amongst the best. I read a lot about swapping or adding a ssd to my IMac, but my main concern is more about the qualities of the drives out there.










Solid state drive for imac 24